The Journey Begins

‘Good company in a journey makes the way seem shorter.’ — Izaak Walton

Hi!

This is the first post of hopefully many about my weight loss journey.

I have had a couple of people ask me to start writing again but didn’t really want to as my diet / exercise had decreased loads over the past few years and have been at my heaviest ever. However, after some embarrassing and scary news from the doctors I HAVE to do it!

I’ve been diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes, yep the fat persons illness! 😦 You might be thinking ‘shut up Gemma, anyone can get it!’ but research does show the main reason is obesity, so I won’t ‘shut up!’ 😝

I’ve been told it is definitely reversible by weight loss, more exercise and Metformin medication, so from the moment I left the docs* I started planning and reading with lots of help from Mr P!

*which was an embarrassment in itself- hottest day of the year and I had to have my feet checked for a heart beat, something I didn’t realise would be happening. For those who know me well, I love my crocs but these + hot weather = sweaty feet!! Poor nurse! 😂

So, my plan currently is 16:8 fasting (fast for 16hrs, eat for 8), low carb, high fat/protein and more exercise. Done lots of research into best diets to reverse diabetes and this seems the best, worth a go!

Exercise – I would describe myself as lazy! I love my sleep and watching TV. Many people have commented in the past that I can not be lazy as I do so much, especially at work (Head of Staff Association don’t you know! 😆) but when I get home that’s it! So I’m starting slow…we live in a 3 storey house so I’m going up and down 3 times in a row once a day – which is bloody knackering! I will increase this when I feel it’s getting easier. I also want to start swimming again, I’ll keep you posted…

Weight loss – so I have been doing the above for a week and already lost over half a stone which is fantastic! Downside is (I am sorry and warn you now that I will be writing some stuff in my blogs that you might think is TMI, but I would like this to be a blog to help others so the downsides are a necessity!) this has caused my period to start (very very irregular usually) and the medication has left me pooing only once a day (I used to be 3+ a day) and very noisily and violently! (I did warn you!) Really hoping this is a short term side effect!

Why am I doing this?

Doing the blog- like I said above, to help others in similar situations but also for help. I know lots of friends and family will read this and I need you to help me! Encourage me, congratulate me, tell me off and NOT let me have that sausage roll at break time! (Omg I will miss them!)

Doing the diet- obviously because being told I have, and always will have (albeit hopefully in remission) type 2 diabetes is terrifying and embarrassing! But the most important reason is my beautiful, funny, intelligent, moody but caring daughter! (Have tears as I write this!) I’ve been selfish! I’ve not been able to run in the mums race at sports day, I’ve not been able to take her on roller coasters, I’ve not been able to roll around on the floor tickling her or gone rollerskating together and it’s all because I’ve been too fat! I’m so sorry Rosie! I love you so much and want to be there for you in the future so I promise I will try my hardest to do this and be the mother I should be!

I also want to do this for my patient, kind, grumpy and loving husband! David I know we sometimes bicker but I love you and doing this together will mean lots more happy years together and better…………….. holidays!

So, this is my first entry done, hope I haven’t bored you too much and I hope you read my future blogs, I plan to write a few times a month.

Love to all,

Gem xxx

10 thoughts on “The Journey Begins

  1. Well done Gemma. I need a push in the right direction too. The bad habit of eating sweets whilst writing essays is not good. Keep going. You’re smashing it already xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done, sugar! Oh, perhaps I shouldn’t call you that now. Well done, salad! One small step for (wo)man, one giant leap for a Parrott! Keep on going, talk when we get back from USA. Big hug and kisses, Dad XXX

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Well done on your first steps to a healthier you! It’s a hard journey but it’s so worth it! I am back over 4st from my target but I am back on my journey again!!! I just need to remember what I always said before ‘Its a marathon not a sprint, and it’s my marathon and my journey so I want to enjoy it!’ X it’s so true that having support from others makes it easier so let’s bl**dy do this!!! I look forward to hearing all about your personal journey! Sending lots of positive vibes and love your way!! You can and you will do this!! Lots of love Sadie xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gemma it’s good to see you blogging again and also so determined to lose the weight, reverse the diabetes and become a healthier you. Your words about Rosie say so much and I wish you lots of luck with it all. YOU GOT THIS xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Well done Gem, anything worthwhile is tough but you can do it, happy to do a brisk lunchtime walk up that hill with you when you are ready for it. Liz G

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Fab blog Gem. You did make me chuckle with the TMI section.
    I know someone else on the same journey. She has joined a gym, has PT sessions and takes photos of every session and shares them, more for herself, to witness the results but also for motivational support.
    You’ve lost weight before, you know you can do it and we know you will too. After all, you have a rollercoaster to get on with Rosie! With every milestone you reach on the way, go do something you’ve not done with her before – a reward for you all.
    Best of luck on your journey. It won’t be all plain sailing but it will be worth it.
    Look forward to the next entry x

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow Gemma! This is really powerful! I have been trying to do this myself so I can empathise on many points! You are an inspiration and I plan to keep reading future posts!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment